The Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century joins forces once again with recorder player and singer Lucie Horsch. A special program on recorder and voice with works by J.S. Bach, Antonio Vivaldi and a brand new work by Reza Namavar. Old music in a new way; new music inspired by old masters.

Bach wrote no solo works for recorder, and yet the evening opens and closes with a concerto by the German grand master. The opening was arranged by founder of the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century Frans Brüggen; the closing piece Lucie Horsch herself arranged for her instrument. This is how Bach sounded if he did compose for recorder!

The Latin name for recorder "ricordare la voce," literally means "remembering the voice. Lucie takes it to the test. She arranges Bach's concerto in a minor for recorder and brings the aria "Stirb in mir, Welt" back to its vocal roots.

Especially for this program, composer Reza Namavar is writing a new work inspired by Vivaldi's double concerto in a minor. The double violin concerto becomes a violin recorder concerto.


J. S. Bach Concerto BWV 1053 (arr. Frans Brüggen)
A. Vivaldi RV 443, Flautino concerto
A. Vivaldi Aria: ‘Vedrò con mio diletto’, from RV 717, ‘Il Giustino’
A. Vivaldi Concerto in a minor from RV 522, L’Estro Armonico op. 3 nr. 8
R. Namavar New piece, inspired by Vivaldi
J. S. Bach BWV 1041, Concerto in a minor (arr. Lucie Horsch)

Recorder: Lucie Horsch


November 2024
Fri Nov 29, 2024
December 2024
Sun December 1, 2024
Haarlem, Phil.
Tue Dec 3, 2024
The Dove
Wed Dec 4, 2024
Leiden, Stadsgehoorzaal
Thu Dec 5, 2024
Zeeland Concert Hall
Fri Dec 6, 2024
Groningen, Oosterpoort
Sat December 7, 2024
New Church
Sun December 8, 2024
Breda, Chasse Theater

Past concerts