Ablogin's minimal movements and transparent voicing created a contemplative atmosphere and the pianist drew the audience in with his sophisticated expression and beautiful soft dynamics.
-South Florida Classical Review

In this concert, the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century brings three pieces by Mozart to the stage, along with up-and-coming talent Dmitry Ablogin on fortepiano. You will hear Symphony No. 25 by a just immature Mozart - he was 17 when he wrote it in 1773. Also, the piano concerto in E-flat major from 1784 and the 27th piano concerto from the year of his death. A cross section from the second half of the life of this musical genius who died too young.

And that time is interesting not only because of Mozart's life. A tremendously turbulent period descended upon Europe in the last decades of the 18th century. The French and Industrial Revolution and abolition of the slave trade (to name just a few major events), and all under the rule of "enlightened monarch" and Mozart supporter Joseph II, emperor of the Holy Roman Empire and ruler of the Habsburg monarchy.

And in this period-the last years of the Enlightenment in Europe; the fall of the old principalities; the cradle of our modern age-Mozart wrote his best and most beautiful works. And all in a crucible of revolutions and uprisings, which is surprisingly similar to our own time.


W. A. Mozart K183/173dB, symphony no. 25 in g minor
W. A. Mozart K449, Piano Concerto No. 14 in E-flat major
W. A. Mozart K595, Piano Concerto No. 27 in B-flat major

Fortepiano: Dmitry Ablogin


Past concerts

May 2024
Sun 5 May 2024, 15:00
Haarlem, Phil.