The Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century joins forces once again with recorder player and singer Lucie Horsch. A special program on recorder and voice with works by J.S. Bach, Antonio Vivaldi and a brand new work by Reza Namavar. Old music in a new way; new music inspired by old masters.

Bach wrote no solo works for recorder, and yet the evening opens and closes with a concerto by the German grand master. The opening was arranged by founder of the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century Frans Brüggen; the closing piece Lucie Horsch herself arranged for her instrument. This is how Bach sounded if he did compose for recorder!

The Latin name for recorder "ricordare la voce," literally means "remembering the voice. Lucie takes it to the test. She arranges Bach's concerto in a minor for recorder and brings the aria "Stirb in mir, Welt" back to its vocal roots.

Especially for this program, composer Reza Namavar is writing a new work inspired by Vivaldi's double concerto in a minor. The double violin concerto becomes a violin recorder concerto.


J. S. Bach Concerto BWV 1053 (arr. Frans Brüggen)
A. Vivaldi RV 443, Flautino concerto
A. Vivaldi Aria: 'Sovente il sole', from 'Andromeda liberata', RV 117
A. Vivaldi Concerto in a minor from RV 522, L’Estro Armonico op. 3 nr. 8
R. Namavar New piece, inspired by Vivaldi
J. S. Bach BWV 1041, Concerto in a minor (arr. Lucie Horsch)

Recorder: Lucie Horsch


Past concerts

May 2024
Sun May 26, 2024
Enschede, Music Center Enschede
Sat May 25, 2024, 20:15
Rotterdam, The Doelen
Fri May 24, 2024, 20:15
Amsterdam, Muziekgebouw
Thu May 23, 2024, 20:15
Utrecht, TivoliVredenburg